question about free floating remington Model 700™ VLS 22 250

sirking

i have a new remington Model 700™ VLS 22 250 i took and had it bedded and free floated.... upon getting it back from the gun smith i checked it with a dollar bill . It went under the barrel freely for a few inches then stopped. I the took off the stock and saw that the stock had an bridge type buldge that was made into the stock ( possible from the factory for the heavy barrel support ) the action was glassed real good... But my question is should that buldge have been taken out to be free floated ? does it need to be taken out ? I am not a expert on this by far..... Any help......... thanks alot

welcome to the forum. if it were me i would shoot it first and see how it performs, if it shoots up to your standards then let it be. if it doesn't then i would take it back to the smith and ask him what he would suggest. jmho

I agree...shoot it first, BUT if you paid the smith to "free float" your barrell and its not free floated then I would be wanting to know why he didnt do what he said he was going to do.

As for the bulge in your stock forend, just get a dremel tool and sand/remove it out of the forend.

Remington Engineer for the VTR was on a forum and told people they put a bunch of time in to figuring out wha worked best on the 700. They said free floating wasn't i.
smile.gif

A bunch of people responded they had FF their 700 VTR. The engineer ask them the results and not a single one improved, most got worse.

Those pressure points are designed in he stock for a reason. I'd leave them be and thank your smith for not screwing up your gun.

Last edited: