Ring Lapping - Need advice!

FishSqueezer

Fellas,

I'm in the process of lapping some Leupold rings (which I'm thoroughly impressed by!) for my new CZ 527. This is my first attempt at lapping rings because I typically use Burris Signature Zee's. Below are a couple of top-down photos of the alignment bars mounted in my rings following a good round of lapping. The bar points are vertically in-line, but horizontally they are still slightly off (shown below). I've smoothed out ~ 75% of the inside of the rings and I'm reluctant to take off anymore steel.

Would you ring lapping experts call it good at this point or keep going for perfect alignment???

Thanks for the help!

zoomed.png

20140528_204518.jpg

Your rings may not be perfectly parallel to each other, the only way to know would be to take a dial caliper and measure them from one side to the other to find out. Sometimes you can loosen the base screw just enough to move the ring into alignment and re tighten. You might try that on that front ring and see if it helps.

Overall though if your lapping bar is making good contact on both rings, I wouldn't worry too much about it. I use that as more of a gauge than the points..

Originally Posted By: fw707The points of the bars are totally useless for showing ring alignment.

Why are they useless for showing alignment?

The way I've always done it...use a single 1.000" chrome shaft to 'line up the rings'. Lap the rings to take off any rough surfaces on the inner halves and obtain the best fit.

The OPs top down picture clearly shows the rings are not 'lined up', assuming the bars are secure in the rings.

Originally Posted By: Lefty SRHOriginally Posted By: fw707The points of the bars are totally useless for showing ring alignment.

Why are they useless for showing alignment?

Because the points can be touching perfectly with the bars out of alignment.